Skip navigation

This Moment in History

It’s now the day after the inauguration and I still cannot settle down. I am so excited for our country and the world that President Obama is now officially our leader. Hope and faith are again part of the American spirit.

When I got up yesterday morning, I turned on CNN and could not believe all the thousands of people on the mall – at 6:00 in the morning! Half of me wished I was there. Many years ago, I participated in a women’s march in DC and it was a pivotal moment in my personal growth. I know that these people are feeling the same way. Just hope they could stay warm!

We always have a MLK program on campus at the law school. Yesterday was perfect timing to combine the usual program with the inauguration. Students from the high school and local citizens joined law school students, faculty and staff in the student center. After a short MLK memorial, we turned to the inaugural coverage. I am sure our cheers and hearty clapping rattled the windows. Afterwards, cake and sparkling cider were served to all. It was a grand gathering – Vermont style.

President Obama’s message really hit home for all of us. We all have a responsibility to serve our neighbors and to make a difference – and that is what we strive to do at Vermont Law School.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
