Skip navigation

Oh, Canada!

I recently returned from a week long, two-part trip across the eastern coast of Canada. Part one sent me through Maine (stopped in Portland), New Brunswick, side trip to Halifax, Nova Scotia, back to NB to Chaleur Bay, then into Quebec for some camping at Forillon National Park (the end of the Appalachian Mountains at the tip of the Gaspe Peninsula). On the way back we stopped in Quebec City, Montreal and finally made our way back into Vermont. It was quite the trip, we drove over 2500 miles.

The highlight of the trip was, of course, the coastal views. Chaleur bay is one of the 10 most beautiful bays in the world, and it surely lives up to its title. Although, once we were deep into the Gaspe Peninsula, the scenery was magnificent with steep rocky cliffs, plush landscapes, and stunning ocean views. The several sunsets I witnessed left me in complete awe!

This trip as my post-law school release and rebirth into my new position, career, and life. Kathy jokes with me saying, “you can have a life again; it’s not all books and classes anymore!” Although, knowing the way I am, I will take my job way too seriously… which I think is a good thing and I am sure Kathy would agree. 😉

One of the great things about living in Vermont is our proximity to so much. It took me until my third year of law school to begin to realize all Vermont (and the surrounding area) has to offer.  From taking weekend trips to Canada (especially Montreal, it’s less than three hours away), to Boston, NYC, and exploring the many small towns, rivers, lakes and parks right in our own Vermont backyard.

You can never go wrong by sending homemade Vermont goods to family (think the holidays)!!

In other news…

New students are pouring into South Royalton and the town is starting to come alive once again. I’ve had the opportunity to speak to many students and there is a balanced mix of anxiety, fear, excitement, and enthusiasm in the air. All the right ingredients for the semester to begin!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
