Skip navigation

Update on World AIDS Day Program at VLS

A couple of weeks ago, I posted an entry on this blog about our upcoming program for World AIDS Day.  The speaker sent this note to the campus yesterday and I thought it would be nice for you to see her impression of the Vermont community.

December 15, 2009

Dear Professor Farrior, Dean Jefferson, Jessica Wilkerson, and the organizers from groups who sponsored the VLS World AIDS Day event on November 30th

The Alliance

Law Students for Reproductive Justice Alliance

International Law Society

National Lawyers Guild

Women’s Law Group

Latin American Law Students Association

Black Law Students Association

Asia Pacific American Law Students Association

(I may have left groups out – please forgive me, and send my thanks to any others…)

Just wanted to send a heartfelt **thank you** for your invitation to join you for your World AIDS Day event a few weeks ago.  I so appreciated the opportunity to share some of my thoughts and stories, and to hear from you about Vermont Law School.  I really did enjoy talking to students and hearing about your programs, and I have to say that never in my Brooklyn dreams did I think I would see and use a compost toilet on this trip!  You’ve got a remarkable institution, with wonderful students and faculty. It was a pleasure to learn more about this shining star in New England.

I really am grateful to have been able to mark December 1st (and the 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Based Violence) with you.  World AIDS Day is a somber day, globally, and an important one to note, particularly in the United States.  I’m so glad VLS students have been organizing around this theme.

You were all very generous hosts.

Thank you, again.   Hope to see you in coming semesters – and in the interim, stay warm and enjoy the holidays.

Cynthia Rothschild

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
